Tuesday, 5 March 2013

Cancer Bats - Dead Set On Living (Deluxe Edition)

Genre - Harcore / Southern Rock / Punk / Metal

Track listing -

01. R.A.T.S
02. Bricks & Mortar
03. Road Sick
04. Breathe Armageddon
05. D.S.O.L
06. The Void
07. Old Blood
08. Drunken Physics
09. Bastards!
10. Rally The Wicked
11. New World Alliance
12. Wolf Clan (Bonus Track)
13. The Great Divide (Bonus Track)
14. Sonic Mind Assault (Bonus Track)
15. Over It (Bonus Track)
16. Children of the Grave (Black Sabbath cover)
17. Into the Void (Black Sabbath cover)
18. Iron Man (Black Sabbath cover)
19. Nib (Black Sabbath cover)
20. War Pigs (Black Sabbath cover)

Here is the 'Deluxe Edition' of the Cancer Bats fourth album, Dead Set On Living, resplendant with nine bonus track, five of which are covers of classic era Black Sabbath tracks.
Dead Set On Living see's the band continuing where they left off with 2010's Bears, Mayors, Scraps & Bones, with the band continuing to explore a heavier guitar sound, something that really comes in handy, and I would guess pretty much inspired by the Black Sabbath covers!
I would say that they have pretty much struck the perfect ballance between Black Sabbath styled heavy metal and hardcore punk, the music is still raw enough as to not alienate existing fans, whilst the heavier guitar sound adds a little something and gives the band another dimension to their music.
Dead Set On Living is a pretty solid and impressive album, and the guys manage to pull off the Sabbath covers really well, something of a rarity in my opinion.

A great album by the hardcore veterens.

Rating - 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment