Monday, 28 May 2018

Promethium - Faces Of War (2018)

Genre - Hard Rock / Heavy Metal
Label - Load 4 Records / Plastichead

Track listing:

01. Enemies Fate
02. Declaration
03. P.O.W.
04. Shell Shock
05. 20.21.15
06. Turncoat
07. Stolen Valour
08. Final Solution
09. Kill On Demand
10. Faces of War

UK metal merchants Promethium return with their third studio album in the form of 'Faces Of War'.

Yet this album is different from its predecessors in the way that 'Faces Of War' is the bands first concept album! Each song telling a different story of war from a different perspective, dealing with the subject of Warfare its effects and consequences. 'Faces of War' opens with 'Enemies Fate', a full on assault of the senses that really does set the scene for the rest of the album. A great marching rhythm section and some great guitar work gets this alum off to a great start. 'Declaration' follows, a beast of a track that is driven by some great vocals from Steve Graham and fuelled by the great drumming of Kev Yates. 'P.O.W.' is up next, a song driven along by the great guitar riffs, whilst lyrically taking the listener on a journey through the torturous experience of being a prisoner of war. Great track! Next we have 'Shell Shock'. a song that lyrically deals with the post traumatic stress of conflict, is yet another intelligent assault of the sense...…Opening as the most subtle and melodic track of the album so far, before exploding into a full on assault, before once again transitioning back into a great melodic section, then back again, seriously this album just doesn't let up! 
'20.21.15' follows, and features a guest vocal appearance from one Barry Mills of Massive Wagons.  Great song that also features some awesome guitar work from Daniel Lovett Horn and Rossi. 'Turncoat' is up next, a much more straight forward metal track than its predecessor, twisting and turning riffs, thundering bass line....perfect.
'Stolen Valour' is just a brutal and intense assault on the senses, a truly great metal track! 
'Final Solution' is a very well researched and provoking lyrical theme, dealing with the Nazi ideals and genocide of WWII, respectful yet brimming with attitude and intensity! 'Kill On Demand' is the albums penultimate track, is another great straight forward metal track that benefits from the  appearance from the former Eden’s Curse / Inner Road legend Jay Parmar delivering a Guitar solo of exhilarating finesse. The album closes out with the title track, 'Faces Of War', is brimming with a defiant attitude that fitting brings a truly fantastic album to an end.Over the course of the bands three releases we have been able to witness Promethium grow and develop into one of the UKs best metal bands of the modern era.

Very Highly Recommended!

Rating: 9/10

Promethium Are:

Steve Graham(Lead Vocals)Dan Lovett-Horn (Guitar)Rossi (Guitar/Vocals)

Henry Greenwood (Bass/Vocals)Kev Yates (Drums)


Hell's Gazelles - Take Your Medicine (2018)

Genre - Hard Rock
Label - Self Release

Track listing:

1. Give Me Something
2. Stone Cold
3. Out Of Time
4. Take Your Medicine
5. She Devil

Hell's Gazelles is a hard rock band from Oxford, UK. are preparing to release their brand new ep 'Take Your Medicine' this July (27th)

The EP was recorded and produced by Chris D'Adda (Wayward Sons, Toseland) at Vale Studios and mixed / mastered by Neil Kennedy (Creeper, Milk Teeth) at The Ranch Production House, 'Take Your Medicine' features five high-energy slabs of modern hard rock goodness tinged with metal influences! 

With support slots for the likes of Black Moth, The Treatment, Desert Storm plus playing Bloodstock Open Air, HRH Roadtrip and more, the band have been building a healthy reputation on the live circuit, and in 'Take Your Medicine' deliver an EP that builds upon the strengths of their previous debut, showcasing their maturing song writing abilities perfectly. Here we clearly have  four guys who love great Rock music, delivering mega riffs, huge hooks and some soaring Halford /  Dickinson-esq vocals courtesy of lead singer Cole Bryant. 

The EP opens up with 'Give Me Something', a relatively up-tempo modern rocker that really sets the scene for what is about to follow, with Cole Bryant showcasing his vocal acrobatics early on. 

Next up was have 'Stone Cold' (for which the band have produced a lyric video) which has a slightly more classic rock feel to it. Still the nice big riffs and modern rock sound, but the song seems to follow a more classic rock style, which a ok with me. 
'Out Of Time' is up next, slowing the tempo very slightly but continuing the high quality delivered on its two preceding tracks. The EP's title track is up next. 'Take Your Medicine', once again falling back on to a more classic rock style, not as heavy as its preceding tracks but picking the tempo back up a little, and you can just imagine this going over a storm live with the crowd chanting the chorus!
The Ep closes out with the rather excellent 'She Devil' with its hypnotic riff.

If I had to try and describe the sound of Hell's Gazelles, I would have to say Modern Rock with a strong Classic Rock and NWoBHM influence (especially in the vocal department!), which proves to a great mix.

"Encapsulating the energised, thought provoking and wild delivery of 'Take Your Medicine'; the EP artwork (by Very Metal Art) features the maniacal scientist 'Dr. Strangechild'."

Well worth checking out!!

Rating: 8/10

Hell's Gazelles are:

Cole Bryant - Vocals
Nath Digman - Guitar
Rik Ridemark - Bass 
Luke Evans - Drums

Catch the guys live on the following dates:

7 July - Swansea, Seven Sins Festival (w/ Skam, Those Damn Crows and more)
8 July - Quarrydowns, Amplified Festival (w/ Therapy, Xentrix and more)
20 July - Oxford, The Bullingdon (EP launch show)
25 Aug - Royston, Reaperfest (w/ Falling Red and more)

Sunday, 27 May 2018


So after much deliberation it has been decided that I will once again resume posting reviews etc here in an attempt to help spread the word about the wealth of great music that is being released. If I am honest I really can not believe that it has been almost a year since I last posted a review!
In the time that I have been quiet there have been great releases from the likes of Judas Priest, who returned with their strongest album in years, Saxon, Ginger Wildheart, Eureka Machines, who blessed us with a great new studio album and a double album of rarities. Releases from The Darkness, Bon Jovi, Eyes of the Raven and so many more!

I truly hope to keep this little blog going with regular, if at times a little sporadic, updates, and possible the odd little article focusing upon a particular band or artist.

The first of the new reviews should be posted over the next week or so.

Thanks again for showing and interest in this little blog, and helping to spread the word about some great music.


Monday, 21 May 2018

Re-Launch Coming Soon!

After much deliberation I have decided to relaunch this blog and once again provide news snippets and album reviews.

Stay Tuned!!!!