Sunday, 4 March 2012

Run From Robots - Rust (2012)

Genre - Punk / Rock / Pop
Label - Glasstone Records


01 - Raining Nuts and Shooting Bolts
02 - Umbrella
03 - Countersink
04 - On Top Of The Game (Everybodys Perfect)
05 - Red Lights Ruin Nights
06 - Overcoat
07 - C+B
08 - Firing Blanks
09 - AD Mint
10 - Wolf Spider

RFR (Run From Robots are a "hard working" 4 piece punk rock band from the UK.  They have a sound that the fans of Blink 182 and Green back will probably love, that sort of raw pop punk that has done so well commercially over the last few years. Some great riffs and tons of sing alongable melodies, coupled with a healthy dose of attitude makes for an enjoyable record.
I can see this band acheiving considerable success given the right backing and support, but only time can tell.
The songs are strong and delivered with conviction, the production is crisp and well the band... they rock. Stand out tracks include Wolf Spider, On Top Of The Game, Raining Nuts and Shooting Bolts and Umbrella.
A promising album that has gotten me wanting to hear more!

Rating 9/10

Gone Til Winter - The First season (2012)

Genre - Gothic / Alternative Metal / Female Vocal

01 - Solemise
02 - Heat Signal
03 - Kill Me
04 - Utopia
05 - Deep Sleep
06 - Distant Places
07 - Release (acoustic)
08 - Constant Retreat (acoustic)

Manchester based Gone Til Winter unleash their self released debut upon the world in the form of The First Season.The inevitable comparisons with the likes of Nightwish, Evenescence and Lacuna Coil are bound to be made, yet Gone Til winter offer up a less polished, more organic sound to my ears. Telena Cuthbert has a great voice, powerful and emotive, with a great range that sits on top of the heavy riffing just as comfortably as it does the subtle acoustic sections. the songs are pretty well put together, and the musicianship is all good.
I think the band could benifit with the helkp of a top producer just to add that final edge / polish to the tracks, as sometimes they just seem to lack something that I just cant put my finger on, but thats not to say that there is anything wrong with them on the contary they are all solid, just not outstanding.
Stand out tracks for me include Utopia, Release, Constant Retreat and Solemise.
On a whole a solid debut that shows a band with a lot of potential,

rating 8/10

POM - Sleepwalker (2012)

Genre - Acoustic
label - Copro Records


01 - Deep Shift (Solo Guitar)
02 - Blind Man (Solo)
03 - Propeller
04 - Cowboy Junkie
05 - Purple Room (Solo)
06 - Sleepwalker
07 - Rodeo (Solo)
08 - Blind Man (Multi Track)
09 - Re-Admit (Solo Madolin)

There is something about the sound of an acoustic guitar (like the saxaphine and pianno) that is soothing, special and uniquely beautiful, especially when its in the right hands.
Sleepwalker is a nine track album, with some songs / tracks clocking in at nine minutes plus in length, all featuring the amazingly talented Pom delivering his unique blend of classical / pop and rock music with a healthy mix of flamenco and eastern flavours.
This man truly knows how to handle his axe, and its all purly organic. the only effect used is a little reverb added, thats all, no studio trickery just one man and his guitar.
Now guitarist albums are not always to everyones taste, myself included, i generally prefer the addition of vocals, but POM can make nine minutes fly by, such is the graceful flow of his playing. My favourite tracks here are Cowboy Junkie, Re-Admit and Sleepwalker, but I have thoroughly enjoyed the enrire album from begining to end.

A great break from the heavy grind of the typical rock / metal album, well worth checking out.

Rating - 9/10