Sunday, 28 September 2014

Man Bites Zombie - Self Titled (2014)

Genre - Modern Rock / Alternative / Electronica
Label - Independent Artist

Track listing:
01 - When It All Comes Down
02 - Zombie Chew Toy
03 - Castle Walls
04 - The Preacher
05 - Zombiology
06 - Stay Where You Are
07 - Trained Zombie Killers
08 - To War (A Dance With The Dead)

"No one really entertains the idea of a Zombie Apocalypse, but there are a few who know it’s all just a matter of time." This is the opening line of the bands bio, and enough to let the listener know that they are in for a fun ride!
Cardiff (Wales, UK) based band, Man Bites Zombie formed in early 2012 with  Matt Pugh, Paul Mac Donald , James Gardiner, and Rob Tucker joined forces to create a unique Zombie storytelling experience. Mixing rock and electronica genre’s to tell stories and experiences from the Zombie apocalypse. With influences ranging all the way from Nine Inch Nails , Pendulum, Metallica  to the genius of David Bowie and Frank Sinatra, Man Bites Zombie manage to conjur up a very unique sound.
This their debut album features eight very well written songs, which manage to acheive the bands goal of creating the perfect soundtrack to the forth coming Zombie apocalypse!
As I said, the songs are all very well written, and performed to perfection. The albums production is a rather polished affair very much in the vein if an electronica release, yet maintains the suspense and atmosphere that is created both by the songs and the songs subject matter!
It really is hard to pick out stand out tracks, but Castle Walls, Trained Zombie Killers (For the opening soundbite alone!) and To War (A Dance With The Dead) are really something special!

Rating - 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment