Monday, 7 November 2011

Doogie White - As Yet Untitled

Genre - Hard Rock / Clasic Rock

Track listing -

01 Come Taste The Band

02 Time Machine
03 Dreams Lie Down And Die
04 Lonely
05 Land Of The Deceiver
06 Secret Jesus
07 Sea Of Emotion
08 Catz Got Yer Tongue
09 Living On The Cheap
10 Times Like These

"As Yet Untitled is the first solo album of the Scottish singer Doogie White, who halfway of the nineties became world famous as the lead vocalist of Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow and who very convincingly took care of the vocals parts on the ‘Stranger In Us All’ record. After having sung for a couple of years at the side of mister Blackmore, he went on to do the vocals with another guitar hero being our Swedish ego-tripper Yngwie Malmsteen. With mister Malmsteen Doogie’s adventure lasted about six and a half years and two albums and recently he very surprisingly joined the reincarnated New Wave Of British Heavy Metal band Tank. Besides all of this over the years Doogie also recorded four (great) albums with his band/project Cornerstone, as well as albums with Tank and Empire"
The list of guest musicians involved in the recording of “As Yet Untitled” looks impressive:
Patrick Johansson (Yngwie), Thomas Broman (Glenn Hughes) – Drums, Derek Sherinian (Black Country Communion), Tony Carey (Rainbow) – Bass, Neil Murray (Whitesnake), Greg Smith (Ted Nugent), Paul Logue (Edens Curse) - Keyboards,Pontus Norgren (Hammerfall), Marcus Jidell (Royal Hunt), Phil Hilborne ( Queen Musical), Mick Tucker (Tank) - Guitars and Patti Russo (Meatloaf, Cher) - Guest vocals.

So with such a wide ranging array of talent we should be expecting something special, and thats exactly what we get. With a sound that falls somewhere between the classic hard rock of bands like Rainbow and Deep Purple with a contemporary edge and production, As Yet Untitled is a damn fine debut!
Ten very strong melodic yet heavy rock tracks, that show case both Doogies amazing vocal range and his songwriting abilities too. (He co-wrote every track on the album!)

 Every one of the ten songs here are excellent but stand out tracks for me have to include, opener Come Taste The Band, Dreams Lie Down And Die, Sea Of Emotion and Times Like These.
This album has been a long time coming, but it sure sounds like its been worth the wait. Lets hope we dont have to wait years for the follow up!

A Great Classic Hard Rock Album!

Rating 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment