Wednesday, 2 November 2011

Meat Loaf - Hell In A Handbasket

Genre - Hard Rock / Classic Rock / Pop
Label -

Track listing -

01. All of Me

02. Fall from Grace
03. The Giving Tree
04. Mad Mad World/The Good God is a Woman and She Don’t Like Ugly (Special appearance by Chuck D)
05. Party of One
06. Live or Die
07. California Dreamin‘ (Duet with Patti Russo)
08. Another Day
09. 40 Days”
10. Our Love and Our Souls (Duet with Patti Russo)
11. Stand in the Storm” (Special guest appearances from Lil Jon, John Rich and Mark McGrath)
12. Blue Sky

Meatloaf returns with his latest offering and the follow up to last years Hang Cool teddy Bear. Now I am a huge Meatloaf fan, I always have been but here we have the same old problem with Meat's new albu as we have with many of his non Bat Out Of Hell releases, that is the lack of one Mr Jim Steinmen. Once again it feels a little too much like Meatloaf by numbers, like he is just not being pushed and stretched enough in the studio. Dont get me wrong, Hell In A Handbasket is not a bad album, its full of more than competant songs, the musicianship is excellent and Meat is in fine voice, its just that it os a little too much by the numbers and therefore a little dissappointing.

The album has a few high points, Fall From Grace, The Giving Tree and closing track Blue Sky come to mind, but its not a touch on any of the three Bat Out Of Hell albums!

Rating 6/10

No comments:

Post a Comment