Saturday, 1 November 2014

LORDI - Scare Force One (2014)

Genre - Hard Rock / Horror Rock

Track listing:
01. SCG7: Arm Your Doors And Cross Check
02. Scare Force One
03. How To Slice A Whore
04. Hell Sent In The Clowns
05. House Of Ghosts
06. Monster Is My Name
07. Cadaver Lover
08. Amen’s Lament To Ra II
09. Nailed By The Hammer Of Frankenstein
10. The United Rocking Dead
11. She’s A Demon
12. Hella’s Kitchen
13. Sir, Mr. Presideath, Sir

I always thought about Lordi as a masquerade, as a fun act though I was always a little unsure about their music.
Well, with "Scare Force One" they sound 'less metal' and 'less grunt' than never before.
As said, Lordi has its mind pointed to the US market: album title, day of release (Halloween), a paraphernalia of merchandising - the album will be released in various packages with toys, etc - and... the music.
Yes, Lordi's music has changed.
Lordi's music now is inoffensive 'horror metal'. I would call it 'comic metal', as one package will feature an illustrated magazine with the lyrics.
This reminds you something? ... yeah, Kiss did it 35 years ago. Yes, Lordi is being handled and marketed to the American audience to be the 21st century Kiss.
Their excellent make-up does not scare nobody, on the contrary, it's the perfect product to sell in this Halloween.
And the music? Well, the title "How To Slice A Whore" may offense many, but musically this track is a commercial rock song with easy riffs, keyboards all over and a catchy chorus.
The carousel melody of "Hell Sent In The Clowns" is fun as hell, with a singable chorus by a 5-year kid. This has a potential (done intentionally) to reach a wide audience.
There's a couple of heavy numbers for the old fans, but this new Lordi is almost melodic rock... just listen "Cadaver Lover" and then tell me. Yes, this is late '80s Alice Cooper.
At this point, Lordi is some kind of fun stuff, a 'comic culture product'.
And now, their music on "Scare Force One" is highly digestable, even with melody and catchy choruses. The Kiss of the new century.
At your record store this Halloween. Trick or Treat.

Rating - 8/10

No comments:

Post a Comment