Saturday, 2 June 2012

Candlemass - Psalms For The Dead (2012)

Genre - Doom Metal
Label -

Track listing -

01 – Prophet
02 – The Sound of Dying Demons
03 – Dancing In The Temple (Of The Mad Queen Bee)
04 – Waterwitch
05 – The Lights of There
06 – Psalms For The Dead
07 – The Killing of The Sun
08 – Siren Song
09 – Black As Time

Swedish Doom Metal merchants, Candlemass, return with their stunning new album, Psalms for the dead. Nine great tracks of early Black Sabbath inspired doom metal. the production is superb, the songs are great, although to be honest Waterwitch is a tad too long for my liking, and the band are in absolutley amazing form.
Stand out tracks include, Prophet, the Sound Of Dying Demons, the uptempo Dancing In The Temple, title track, Pslams For the Dead and Siren Song.
The songs twist and turn through riff after riff, that the riffmeister Tony Iommi himself would be proud of, and lyrically, well the songs are excellent.
As I say the only negatives that I can find with this alum are that Waterwitch seems to drone on a little and the narrative introduction to Black As Time personally annoys me, although it does give way to a blinding track!

Highly reconmended for fans of the band and genre!

Rating - 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment