Saturday, 4 February 2012

Pulled Apart By Horses - Tough Love (2012)

Genre - Post Hardcore / Hard Rock / Alt-Rock

Track listing -

01 – V.E.N.O.M.
02 – Wolf Hand
03 – Shake Off the Curse
04 – Epic Myth
05 – Some Mothers
06 – Night of the Living (I’m Scared of People)
07 – Wildfire, Smoke & Doom
08 – Bromance Ain’t Dead
09 – Give Me a Reason
10 – Degeneration Game
11 – Everything Dipped In Gold

Leeds based rockers, Pulled Apart By Horses unleash their second album upon the world, and boy its a great album!
Filld with high energy raw power, the songs have a very punk edge to them, but there is more to them than that, you can hear the Black Sabbath, Led Zepplin and Motorhead influences working along side this punk rawness, and unlike the bulk of the other "post hardcore" bands that Ive come across, these guys really do know how to write a bloody good song! Just check out Wolf Hand, Epic Myth or even the stunning opener VENOM! This is what I think sets Pulled Apart By Horses aside from many of the peers, yes there is plenty of angst and agression in their sound, but its tempered with the perfect ballance of melody and even dare I say thoughtful lyrics!
Night Of The Living almost has a proggy New Wave feel to it, its a great song, and just one of the many.
When you first hear the album it kind of bowls you over, its sheer power and attitude, but give it another listen or two and the songs start to relveal themselves to you all the more.
Tough Love is the perfect follow up to the bands 2010 debut, heavy and uncompromising, yet filled with well crafted songs, in fact a great second album!

Rating 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment