Sunday, 7 August 2016

Lesbian Bed Death - Evil Never Dies (2016)

Genre - Hard Rock / Gothic Rock / Female Vocal
Label - Pledge Music

Track listing:

01 - Evil Never Dies
02 - Claws
03 - Make Your Wish
04 - Book Of The Dead
05 - Satan In The Swamps
06 - She Sell's Hand Grenades
07 - Church Of V
08 - Son Of A Thousand Maniacs
09 - Survive The Night
10 - Drag Me To Hell
11 - The Final Curtain

"Lesbian Bed Death was founded in the United Kingdom by guitarist Mr Peach as a side project designed to pay tribute to all of the Gothic Punk, Glam, Sleaze bands he grew up with. He was soon joined by Johnny Hell (Vox/Guitar/Keys/Programming) and in 2004, the duo recorded their first song 'Goth Girls Are Easy'. It was put on the internet for free download, and the band started to build a following.  The Duo soon became a trio with the addition of Magic Andy on Bass. A few demos were recorded and Lesbian Bed Death performed a string of live shows, with the rest of the band being made up of various musician friends. The live band varied, depending on who was available to play at the time. Unfortunately things didn't work out with Johnny Hell, mainly due to other commitments and the distance between band members. Lesbian Bed Death brought on board Luci4 as the new lead singer. The only recording from Lesbian Bed Death with Johnny Hell on vocals that received an official release was 'Goth Girls Are Easy' which was featured on the compilation album 'Kill Your Management Volume 6'.
Lesbian Bed Death recorded its debut album 'I Use My Powers For Evil' at the Lizard Lounge Studios in Stoke-on-Trent. It was produced by Alex Jockel, and saw the Lesbian Bed Death recorded its debut album 'I Use My Powers For Evil' at the Lizard Lounge Studios in Stoke-on-Trent. It was produced by Alex Jockel, and saw the LBD trio being joined by members of the 'then live band' including lead guitarist Chuckmaster C, and numerous musician friends from the local scene. It was released on Halloween 2006. The debut album was followed by three music videos and gigs all over the UK, including some underground festivals. The band also played shows in The Netherlands. The band built up a cult following and have sold albums all over the world. People searching Youtube for 'Lesbian' and 'Goth Girls' certainly didn't hurt.
Lesbian Bed Death began working on a new album in the Summer of 2009. On the first day of recording, Magic Andy quit the band. The remaining members recorded almost the entire album over the next few months hoping that he would reconsider and rejoin the band. Eventually, Chuckmaster C had to record the bass parts. Unlike the debut, the second album was recorded by just four people: Luci4, Mr Peach, Chuckmaster C and long-standing drummer Danny Stigmata. Soon after the recording of the album, the band recruited bassist Will Power to complete the line-up. Lesbian Bed Death was now becoming a band as opposed to a 'project'.
In a long standing tradition of utter chaos, Lesbian Bed Death announced the departure of lead singer Luci4 only weeks before the Halloween 2010 release of the album.
The band announced Kittie Racchea as their new singer, and went on to record a further two albums, 'Rise Of The Living Dead' (2012) and 'The Devil's Bounty Hunters' (2013)"

Ok so history lesson over, now I have a confession to make. I lost touch with Lesbian Bad Death shortly after they released their debut album, and until recently I had absolutely no idea that they were still going, yet alone that they had released a further three albums, so I had a little catching up to do before getting my ear lobes around their new, and fifth studio album, 'Evil Never Dies'.

The album opens with the stunning title track and lead single, 'Evil Never Dies' before steam rolling into another slab of infections gothic glam in 'Claws'. The momentum continues until they slow things down with the moody and grinding 'Satan In The Swamp' where new vocalist Sienna Venom's intricate vocals get the chance to shine. The tempo picks back up with the great little rocker, 'She Sell's Hand Grenades'.
'Church of V' is a great atmospheric tribute to the cult sci fi classic show V, whilst 'Son of a Thousand Maniacs' is a rocking tribute to the Nightmare on Elm Street series. 'Survive the Night' pays homage to the classic slasher movies of yester year, with its epic atmospheres!
'Drag Me To Hell' is a rocking track, probably the most up-tempo song on offer here, and a great tribute to horror movies most famous bad guys!
'The Final Curtain'  fittingly closes out the album, a slow atmospheric almost lullaby. with Sienna Venom providing a lovely haunting vocal.

Very, very, very Highly recommended!!

Rating: 10/10