Saturday, 4 February 2012

The Zico Chain - The Devil in Your Heart (2012)

Genre - Alt. Rock / Post-Grunge / Hard Rock

Track listing -

01. Evasion
02. The Real Life
03. New Romantic
04. Mercury Gift
05. A Thousand Splendid Suns
06. Our Evil
07. Case #44PQ_110807
08. Black Turns White
09. Perfect High
10.More Than Life
11. I Am The Silence

The Devil In Your Heart is the fist adrenalin soaked new album from London alt-rockers, Zico Chain set for release on 2nd April 2012.

I had never heard of these guys until this album, err dropped in my lap to review, and I must say it has completely taken me by surprise and blown me away, how the hell have I let these guys slip under my radar!
Not knowing much about the band I will just talk about the music, and how do you describe the perfect blend and balance of pure adrenaline soaked aggression and melody? I think The Zico chain are a pretty darn good example!

Opening with the high octane Evasion, this album gets off to a great start, next up are two guaranteed crowd-pleasing anthems in the form of The Real Life and New Romantic, the latter of which has hit single written all over it! Mercury Gift keeps the standard flown high before moving into the excellent A Thousand Splendid Suns.
Our Evil picks the pace up again, another great high octane stomper, whereas Case #44PQ_110807, slows things down a little, using atmospherics more than aggression to get its point across, showcasing the bands diverse song writing talents. Black turns White and Perfect high continue the high standards before the band unleash their power ballad in the form of More Than Life, a truly atmospheric and great song!
The album closes out with I Am The Silence, ending the album in the same way in which that they started it, a great high energy rocker.

11 tracks and not a bad song in sight! This album is all killer and no filler simplez!

Very highly reconmended!
Rating - 10/10

1 comment:

  1. Zico Chain are a truly awesome band - do yourself a favour and get hold of their previous album, Food, too. And if you read this in time, get along and see them at the Islington Academy on April 19 for the album launch party. It's gonna be killer