Saturday, 25 August 2012

The Darkness - Hot Cakes (2012)

Genre - Hard Rock / Glam Rock Label -

Track listing -

01. Every Inch Of You
02. Nothing's Gonna Stop Us
03. With A Woman'
04. Keep Me Hangin' On
05. Livin’ Every Day Blind
06. Everybody Have A Good Time
07. She Just A Girl Eddie
08. Forbidden Love
09. Concrete
10. Street Spirit (Fade Out)
11. Love Is Not The Answer
12. I Can't Believe It's Not Love (Acoustic Demo) (Bonus Track)
13. Love Is Not The Answer (Acoustic Demo) (Bonus Track)
14. Pat Pong Ladies (Demo Mix) (Bonus Track)
15. Cannonball (feat. Ian Anderson) (Long Version) (Bonus Track)

After initially splitting in 2006 after their excellent second album, Ticket to Hell, to go and form two excellent bands, Justin with his Hot Leg and the other guys with the mighty Stone Gods, the guys decided to reform the band back in 2011 and low and behold here they are with their third studio album.
If you are reading this then you should know what The Darkness are all about musically, Justin's unique vocal style, Dan amazing guitar work, and great songs with at times quirky lyrics.
So how does this new album stand up when compared to its predecessors? Quite well to be honest, granted there may not be many instant classics here, but it does show the guys stretching themselves as songwritters a little more than they have done in the past, which can only be a good thing. If you are already a fan of the band then you are not going to dissappointed with Hot Cakes, if you're not, then this album maybe a littlre more accessable than the previous two as i find Justin to be a little more restrained on here.
Standout tracks for me include, Street Spirit, Forbidden Love, Livin' Every Day Blind, Cannonball, and the semi autobiographical Every Inch Of You.

A welcome return guys, yet I'm still hoping that the already recorded but unreleased second Stone Gods album will eventually see the light of day.

Rating - 9/10
website -

No comments:

Post a Comment