Sunday, 7 October 2012

Kiss - Monster (2012)

Genre - Hard Rock
Label -

Track listing:

01. Hell Or Hallelujah
02. Wall Of Sound
03. Freak
04. Back To The Stone Age
05. Shout Mercy
06. Long Way Down
07. Eat Your Heart Out
08. The Devil Is Me
09. Outta This World
10. All For The Love Of Rock & Roll
11. Take Me Down Below
12. Last Chance
13. Right Here Right Now (Bonus Track)

Kiss are back, with quite possibly their best album since Revenge, possibly since Destroyer!

KISS's career has spanned almost 39 years and this year they release their 20th studio album titled “Monster”. As with their last effort Sonic Boom the band invited no co-writers and founder and rhythm guitarist Paul Stanley co-produced the CD along with Greg Collins.

Paul Stanley, along with co-founder and bassist Gene Simmons have continued to sport the same lineup for the last 8 years with drummer Eric Singer and lead guitarist Tommy Thayer rounding out the quartet.
“Hell or Hallelujah” was released to the airwaves on July 2, 2012. It is an up-tempo song that showcases Thayer’s strong and consistent licks delivered with that traditional Stanley vocal that Kiss fans have come to love.

Sung by Simmons, “Wall of Sound” has some nods to their Revenge album, while Stanley handles lead vocals on “Freak” and shares in the collective effort on the choruses and some of the verses.
“Back to the Stone Age” was co-written by all four members and all 4 have their imprint on this song vocally. Pretty good one.
“Long Way Down” is Kiss trademark, is a flowing track that bares everything that Kiss encompasses; a strong Stanley vocal performance and good harmonies.
“Eat Your Heart Out” starts out with the group doing an a Capella chorus, during which, you can really hear Eric Singer who has an underrated voice. Simmons takes lead vocal on this track, and if any song stands out as unique, I would say it’s this one.
Thayer commands lead vocals on “Outta This World”, nothing outstanding but he sounds natural and fresh.
Eric Singer has a song called “All for the Love of Rock & Roll”. As noted, his vocals are underrated andnster  he shows what he can do with his voice on this song. His style of playing is a little different here, which earns some added attention.
Simmons’ bass pummels through the track “Take Me Down Below”. He locks in with Singer and leads this track on its way, later accompanied by Stanley. A potential single.

"Monster" is a more solid and consistent album than the previous 'Sonic Boom'.
Even though this band has been together for 8 years now, this is only the 2nd studio effort between them. Seems the band is becoming more comfortable with one another and the results show on some tracks.
"Monster" does not pace itself: it's a full-on aural assault from the first note, and doesn't let up until Stanley lets out a final jarring wail on 'Last Chance'.
It's Kiss, and you know what to expect.

Monster really is a true return to form for one of rock n rolls most iconic and long lasting bands.

Rating 10/10

No comments:

Post a Comment