Monday, 1 July 2013

Black Star Riders - All Hell Breaks Loose (2013)

Genre - Hard Rock / Classic Rock
Label - Nuclear Blast

Track listing,

01 - All Hell Breaks Loose
02 - Bound For Glory
03 - Kingdom Of The Lost
04 - Bloodshot
05 - Kisin' The Ground
06 - Hey Judas
07 - Hoodoo Voodoo
08 - Valley Of The Stones
09 - Someday Salvation
10 - Before The War
11 - Blues Ain't So Bad
12 - Right To Be Wrong (deluxe bonus track)

All Hell Breaks Loose is the debut album from the re branded Thin Lizzy. The band featuring original Lizzy member Scott Gorham, former Almighty vocalist, Ricky Warwick, together with Damon Johnson, Marco Mendoza and Jimmy DeGrasso have produced an album that is probably the closest thing to a modern day Thin Lizzy album that is achievable without the deceased Phil Lynott. he Thin Lizzy vibe runs throughout this album, with Warwick providing at times some Lynott esque local lines that are a little un-nerving.
This album is full of highlights especially, Bound For Glory, with its twin Guitar attack, Kingdom Of The Lost, with its Celtic vibe, Kissin' The Ground, with its progressive riffs and percussive vocals. Theres also Hoodoo Voodoo and Before the war which are reminiscent of Warwick's former band, The Almighty and Blues Ain't So Bad which sees Gorham really let loose. Another track of note is the bonus track, Right To Be Wrong, which is far from a throw away, its a solid mid tempo rocker that's worth checking out.

A good solid debut from seasoned veterans.

Rating - 9/10

1 comment: