Friday, 25 April 2014

KXM (George Lynch) - KXM (2014)

Genre - Hard Rock
Label - RatPackRecords

Track listing:

01. Stars
02. Rescue Me
03. Gunfight
04. Never Stop
05. Faith Is A Room
06. I’ll Be Ok
07. Sleep
08. Love
09. Burn
10. Do It Now
11. Human Friction
12. Tranquilize (Bonus Track)
13. Rescue Me (Radio Edit) (Bonus Track)

A new musical force to be reckoned with is about to turn the rock world upside down with the release of their self-titled debut KXM. 
KXM is comprised of dUg Pinnick of King’s X on vocals & bass, George Lynch of Lynch Mob & Dokken on guitars and world class drummer Ray Luzier, who has played with Army of Anyone, David Lee Roth and is currently with Korn. 
The powerhouse trio takes its name from the combination of the member's other projects: K from Korn, X from King’s X and M from Lynch Mob.
Former Dokken guitarist George Lynch has many irons in the fire with bands that, at any given time, include his solo stuff, Lynch Mob, T&N and the upcoming record with Stryper vocalist Michael Sweet. But this is his project that has been talked about for months: KXM.
Formed in early 2013, the trio organically combined their signature talents and began carving out a unique brand of rock based music that will both amaze and delight fans of any genre. 
One could easily conjure up infinite speculations as to what the musical direction would ultimately sound like, as all 3 of these noted musicians bring years of influence to the writing table, but as Ray Luzier best describes it: “When you throw it all together, it’s unique, it’s today sounding, but all of our history and all of our past clearly speaks through the music”. 
Sound wise KXM isn't that far removed from something you'd hear on a King's X album, meaning great bass heavy-funk lines with soulful and dynamic vocals. The only difference here - and what a difference! - is that you have 'Mr. Scary' laying down his trademark guitar licks to this massive sounding music. 
But we have more: Ray Luzier's drum fills, mammoth double-bass and sense of rhythm never sound better. This is by far his best recording ever and his performance on the record is awesome.
There's something visceral, from the guts, from this trio of great musicians playing together.
"KXM" features a collection of cohesive and brilliantly sequenced songs that make for a fabulous listening experience. From groovy hard rockers to soulful, elastic funked and catchy numbers we found standout tracks like "Rescue Me", the broken "GunFight", the crazy & catchy "Faith Is A Room" and the bluesy hard rock of "Love".
Calmer moments include the hazy "Sleep" and the acoustically filled "Never Stop", but the guys rock your ears for the most part, as on the incredibly dynamic "I'll Be Ok", the highlight for me. The bass is a wall of iron, the drums bounce and George... just listen his on-fire wacky riffs a killer solos.
The self-titled debut of KXM is something truly unique and special: this is pure Rock. The songs are powerful, precise and with 'real' bood. 
In today’s overpopulated music arena, true rock 'n roll without gimmicky become harder and harder to find, but KXM’s unified vision rises above the normal and creates its own space, and Rocks bigtime brilliantly produced and mixed.
If you got crazy by the recent 'The Winery Dogs', "KXM" is a mandatory listening but this includes musical fans of any genre. While it's unlikely that KXM will tour behind this particular effort due to each member's commitment to their respective bands in 2014, let's hope there is at least another record. 
Meanwhile, enjoy this killer piece of true (hard) rock.

Well worth checking out!

Rating - 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment