Friday, 25 April 2014

Winger - Better Days Comin' (Deluxe Edition) (2014)

Genre - Hard Rock / Melodic Rock / AOR
Label - Frontiers Records.

Track listing:

01. Midnight Driver of a Love Machine
02. Queen Babylon
03. Rat Race
04. Better Days Comin'
05. Tin Soldier
06. Ever Wonder
07. So Long China
08. Storm In Me
09. Be Who You Are, Now
10. Another Beautiful Day (deluxe edition bonus track)
11. Out Of This World

One of the most influential Melodic Hard Rock bands to come out of the '80s  return's with its first album in five years: WINGER will release "Better Days Comin' ".
"Better Days Comin´" is perhaps Winger's most diverse album to date.
Opening cut "Midnight Driver of a Love Machine" is probably closest in style to the Winger sound that brought them success on the first two albums but has enough twists and turns to keep things interesting.
It is followed by "Queen Babylon", a groovy hard rocker which reminds you commercial Eighties Dio, and then "Rat Race" is one of the highlights on the CD with a heavy, furious riff and fat pace. The music reflects the title in a perfect way. It's a highspeed hardrock tune which is giving you a good shake - from the first to the last note.
However things then take a left turn as the title track has a stripped back retro vibe, and "Tin Soldier" continues the anti-war theme which is a recurring motif in the band's work, and the progressive intrusions reflect the involvement of the likes of drummer Rod Morgenstein in fusion and other musical genres.
Both "Ever Yours" and "Be Who You Are Now" have the slow, dreamy atmospherics more often found on Kip solo albums, and while "So Long China" has and edgy hooky chorus, "Storm In Me" is another moody, darker yet melodic cut showcasing Winger's united dynamics as they flex their muscles, lumbering on chunky guitars.
The bonus track for this deluxe edition called "Another Beautiful Day" is another favorite, combining early nineties Winger with modern hard rocking riffage.
Finally "Out Of This World" builds from slow beginnings into a strong chorus and a classic guitar outro on which Reb Beach gets to show his chops sometimes hidden within the confines of Whitesnake.
"Better Days Comin´" mixes Winger of the past with things from the last 2009 album, marrying up hard rockers with slow paced numbers. It is inevitable that with this sheer variety not every track will be of universal appeal.
However as a statement of Winger’s versatility and talent it cannot be bettered and, especially with the band touring and even playing Download this year, is a very timely profile builder.
Very Recommended.

Rating - 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment