Friday, 19 June 2015

Iron Maiden - Peace Of Mind (20105 iTunes Remaster)

Genre - Heavy Metal / NWoBHM
Label - Parlophone Records (BMG/INgrooves Music Group for the USA)
Track listing:
01 - Where Eagles Dare
02 - Revelations
03 - Flight Of Icarus
04 - Die With Your Boots On
05 - The Trooper
06 - Still Life
07 - Quest For Fire
08 - Sun And Steel
09 - To Tame A Land

Parlophone Records (BMG/INgrooves Music Group for the USA) have released 19 IRON MAIDEN catalog albums which have been Remastered for iTunes, encoded from 24-bit / 96 khz high resolution masters. All these albums have been freshly mastered with iTunes in mind, delivering the music to listeners exactly the way the artist and recording engineer intended.
These are brand new 2015 remasters from their original analog sources, exclusively produced for iTunes.
Now lets take a listen to "Peace Of Mind".
"Piece Of Mind" marks the debut of what many regard as the definitive Maiden line up, with the arrival of new drummer Nicko McBrain. McBrain's ability to duplicate the complex patterns of the guitar and bass riffs gives the band a seamless ensemble unity.
Even Steve Harris, whose busy bass lines were never exactly groove-oriented, has never felt more integrated into the overall sound. Perhaps part of that feeling comes from the less frantic pace; the average tempo has slowed somewhat from the preceding album, and the NWOBHM influences still present there have been slightly changed to a more 'international sound'.
Instead, we get a few moodier, heavier pieces (especially "Revelations") that make the album darker-sounding overall. We also get greater involvement in the song writing from Bruce Dickinson and Adrian Smith, whose themes are perfectly in tune with Steve Harris' epic storytelling.
Nearly every song here was inspired by movies or literature, whether it's history, mythology, sci-fi, or fantasy; this approach got them tagged as a thinking-man's metal band.
Of course, 2Peace Of Mind" gave us such Iron Maiden classics as 'Where Eagles Dare', 'Revelations', 'Flight Of Icarus', 'Die With You Boots On', 'Still Life' and the ageless anthem, 'The Trooper'!
With the remasters you really can hear just how intricate the guitar work is on 'Revelations', the previously buried sound effects in 'Where Eagles Dare', the texts and atmosphere in 'Still Life'. I also have to say that one of my favourite Iron Maiden tracks of all time, 'To Tame A Land', sounds even more of a monster now!

I know that many fans get irritated with the constant re-releases and remaster's that many of the bigger bands put out, but this is one set that really is worth having!
Very, Very Highly recommended!

No comments:

Post a Comment