Wednesday, 30 September 2015

Devil City Angels - S/T (2015)

Genre - Hard Rock
Label - Century Media Records

Track listing:

01. Numb
02. All My People
03. Boneyard
04. I'm Living
05. No Angels
06. Goodbye Forever
07. Ride With Me
08. All I Need
09. Back To The Drive
10. Bad Decisions

Devil City Angels are yet another super-group, this one featuring the talents of former L.A. GunsTracii Guns on guitar, Quiet Riot‘s Rudy Sarzo on bass, Poison‘s Rikki Rockett on drums and Brandon Gibbs (Cheap Thrill) on vocals.
This their self titled debut follows hot on the heals of last years 'The Devil EP'.
The album is a great mix of classic and contemporary hard rock. The songs are incredibly melodic, catchy and memorable which should come as no surprise when you consider the calibre of the musicians involved here!
Devil City Angels launched the album with “Boneyard” which hit the mark sonically and lyrically. Brandon Gibbs has a powerful soulful voice and a brilliant sense of melody that sets him apart from his contemporaries. The best example of this is heard on “Boneyard,” “I’m Living” and what could quite possibly be one of the best ballads in years, “Goodbye Forever.”
The most unique track is “All I Need” which features Beatlesesque chorus and a super sappy, poppy feel to it — yet it works. Devil City Angels also covered the Mike Chapman penned “Back to the Drive” which was made famous by Suzie Quatro, and the result is very good.
Devil City Angels have come up with an album that is guaranteed to satisfy anyone who is looking for some solid hard rock music, played by guys who actually know what they are doing. There is not a bad song on this disc. Are Devil City Angels going to set the world on fire or re-write the Rock n' Roll history books, unlikely, but they are gonna play some great rock music and provide hours of enjoyment for millions of rock fans all over the world!

Well Worth Checking Out

Rating - 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment