Sunday, 10 July 2016

Headline Maniac - Headline Maniac (2016)

Genre - Hard Rock / Garage Rock / Punk
Label -  Hotrod Records

Track listing:
01. Idiot Me
02. Give Me One More Chance
03. Bad
04. Hero
05. 14 Days
06. Someone Like You
07. Millionaire
08. Don’t Stop Doing What You’re Doing
09. You’re the One for Me
10. I Want All Your Love
11. Gotta Get Away

Headline Maniac are an alternative rock band from Essex in the UK. All 3 band members, Dipster Ian Dean (Vocals and Bass), Chris Taylor (Guitars) and Simon Bowley (Drums),  are also part of pioneering punk legends Eddie and the Hotrods. When comparing Headline Maniac to Eddie and the Hotrods they come across as a little more bluesey, a bit heavier, but the punk roots really shine through giving a nice, rough edge to the songs. the songs are all bouncy, catchy and filled with singalong lyrics. The most laid back are probably the album closer, “Gotta Get Away”,  and “Millionaire” but never slow ballady types of tracks here, which is fine by me!
There maybe some heartfelt lyrics here but its the pure rock n roll energy that drives each and every song on this album along, which is no surprise really when you consider the pool of talent that makes up Headline Maniac, after all it maybe a new band but these guys aren't exactly new to the scene!

Headline Maniac are a good honest hard rock n roll band, that have delivered a debut album filled with good down to earth honest rock n roll songs

Check it out!

Rating: 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment