Sunday, 24 July 2016

Watts - The Black Heart Of Rock N Roll (2016)

Genre - Hard Rock / Classic Rock / Rock 'n' Roll
Label - Rum Bar Records

Track listing:
01 - The Black Heart of Rock N Roll
02 - Up All Night
03 - She's So Electric
04 - Strut (Like A Champ)
05 - Bye & Bye
06 - Stage Fright
07 - Fast & Loose
08 - Sunset
09 - The B Side
10 - Bring On The Lights

Watt's return with their forth album in the form of The Black Heart of Rock 'n' Roll. Hailing from the same hometown as The Cars, Nervous Eaters, The Odds, Didn’t Planet and countless other very talented bands, Watts is yet another example of why there may be no better place to be a rock fan than Boston, MA. With nods towards classic rock legends such as AC/DC, The Stones and Aerosmith and no shortage of hit-worthy hooks, The Black Heart of Rock ‘n’ Roll is one very engaging record. Watts takes you on a whirlwind wild ride from album opener, “The Black Heart of Rock n Roll” through arena-ready, guitar-heavy rockers “Strut (Like a Champ)” and “She’s So Electric”. There’s a nod to the pop side with “Bye & Bye”, which I feel is one of the albums weakest tracks,  Toys in the Attic grit with “Stage Fright”, a bit of Keef twang in “Fast & Loose”, and ode to the the 45 “The B Side”, and closing out with the blistering, arena rock show stopper “Bring On The Lights”. plus there's the made-for-radio lead single and video “Up All Night”, brilliant bouncy fun! There really is a lot to like about Watts Black Heart of Rock ‘n’ Roll.
A great band with their hearts set in the musical mindsets of the late eighties and early nineties, think Last Of The Great Dreamers, The Quireboys and Dogs D' Amour.

Well Worth Checking Out

Rating - 8/10

No comments:

Post a Comment