Monday, 3 June 2013

White Pigeon - Property Of White Pigeon (2013)

Genre - Hard Rock / Glam / Sleaze / Pop
Label -

Track listing:

01 - Party
02 - Sea Devil
03 - The Hunt
04 - Kentucky Pie
05 - Rock Me
06 - Ladies
07 - Don't Get Too Close (Squash Song)
08 - Get Me Outta Here
09 - Gladiator
10 - White Pigeon

What would you get if you crossed a little Steel Panther, Tenacious D, Whitesnake and The Darkness. Well I would guess that the result would sound pretty much like White Pigeon.
Less punky than Spit Like This, but in a very similar vein none the less. Property of... is their debut album, featuring revisited, re-mixed, and re-mastered tracks of their now rare first EP as well as five brand new tracks, the release seizes the ear from first note to last to provide an energetic brawl of fun and music, its first track Party the perfect title for the feisty and enjoyable encounter. The opener takes no time in feeding the ear hot guitar melodies and primes riffs driven by infectious vocals and warm inviting keys. The vocals from Nugent and the twins ignites hunger to join the revelry whilst the sounds control the feet and directs their responses to the anthemic lures eagerly at play with masterful efficiency. You know from this opening track that these guys have their tongues planted firmly in their cheeks!
The album continues in much the same vein, only occassionally missing the mark on tracks such as Ladies and Get Me Outta Here, but on a whole its a great fun romper stomper of an album from a young British band!

Rating - 8/10

No comments:

Post a Comment