Wednesday, 30 May 2012

Joe Bonamassa - Driving Towards The Daylight (2012)

Genre - Rock / Blues / Blues Rock
Label -

Track listing -

01 - Dislocated Boy
02 - Stones In My Passway
03 - Driving Towards The Daylight
04 - Who's Been Talkin'
05 - I Got All You Need
06 - A Place In My Heart
07 - Lonely Town Lonely Street
08 - Heavenly Soul
09 - New Coat Of Paint
10 - Somewhere Trouble Dont Go
11 - Too Much Aint Enough Love (with Jimmy Barnes)

Does this man ever stop?
Smokin' Joe Bonamassa returns with his thirteenth solo album in the form of Driving Towards The Daylight, which comes hot on the heals of last years excellent Dust Bowl and the 2nd studio release from a certain supergroup by the name of Black country Communion! Man!
Not only are there some excellent Bonamassa represented here but there are also some absolutly brilliant reworkings of some classic songs, such as the master of the blues, Robert Johnsons, Stones In My Passway, which Joe manages to give a rather Jimmy page sounding Led Zepplin feelin too!
This album once again see's Joe teaming up with versatile produce kevin Shirley, a combination that really does seem to bring the best out of Joes work!
Stand out tracks for me include, Dislocated Boy, with its sublime mix of Bonamassa blues and who style lyrics, the afore mentioned Stones In My Passway with its Zepplin feel, the excellent title track, Driving Towards The Daylight, (which in my honest opinion my just be one of the best songs Mr Bonamassa has ever written!) and Heavenly Soul, with which once again Joe proves that a white blues guitarist can write a blues riff BB King and Robert johnson would be proud of!
A truly great album!

Rating 10/10

No comments:

Post a Comment