Wednesday, 23 July 2014

BAD BOY EDDY - Over The Top [Deluxe Edition] (2014)

Genre - Hard Rock
Label - Demon Doll Records

Track listing:
01 - Fever
02 - She Gives Me A Feeling
03 - I Don't Want You
04 - Super Sonic Freak
05 - Living Lies
06 - Funky Monkey
07 - Rad Ruby
08 - Teenage Sacrifice
09 - Fly Away
10 - Maker Of Dreams
11 - Paybacks A Bitch [bonus track]
12 - The Chosen Ones [bonus track]
#The following Review is not penned by me, but I agree with it whole heartidly. All credit to the author#
Veterans from the Californian Bay area, BAD BOY EDDY have been rocking the underground scene since the late '80s playing in every venue and opening for major acts such as Trixter, Firehouse, Saigon Kick, Y&T, Quiet Riot and many more, but a record contract was frustrated.
It's never too late, and after those years the experienced quintet finally have their official, silver pressed CD debut "Over The Top" out there.
The Bad Boy Eddy crew are like the Sunset Blvd history alive, as if the years had not passed by for them.
Guitarist Dave Saker has been on stage for 25 plus years and was signed on CBS records in 1984 with the band 'OZ'. Many of you surely have his solo-band album 'Saker' released few years ago by Retrospect Records.
The rhythm section of Tin Sanders & Larry Bernal were in countless acts as well, and with new powerhouse vocalist Eddy Vega's strong presence, in the last two years Bad Boy Eddy rapidly gained attention from the media.
A specialized label signed them and now we can enjoy "Over The Top" worldwide.
As said before, Bad Boy Eddy were able to maintain the '80s feel intact over the years, and this is reflected this record.
This is real fist-pumping, heart-thumping '80s Californian hard rock with all the energy and kickin' sounds of that era driven by catchy melodies and genuine attitude.
Essentially you're thrown into The Cathouse or the Whisky A Go-Go where the only thing surrounding you is sweaty bodies, sex, damp leather and the smell of melting hairspray.
They have the look, they have the sound, they have the feeling... Bad Boy Eddy are the complete total package for all your Eighties Hair Metal needs.
If you're a fan of this genre (and who does not?) when it's played as it supposed to do, you'll be in love with anthems such as "Fever", "She Gives Me A Feeling", "Rad Ruby", "Living Lies" and "The Chosen Ones".
They could be more aggressive with hot riffage in "I Don't Want You", "Teenage Sacrifice" and the groovy "Paybacks A Bitch", or really close to melodic hard rock on "She Gives Me A Feeling" and the catchy "Funky Monkey".
Of course they made space for a ballad in "Fly Away", but even there Bad Boy Eddy doesn't lose their grip.
We had to wait almost 25 for Bad Boy Eddy's debut, but hell, they definitely deliver what they promise. 
Let me emphasize the stupendous production: truly great for this genre with a crisp and clear sound enhancing the melodies yet not cutting the edge. 
It's hard to imagine this could be written and recorded in this era. We hear a little bit of everything here, you could throw Kix, Stryper, Dio, Dokken, Skid Row and many more in a blender and still not nail it any better than Bad Boy Eddy did. The boys aren't joking when they called this record "Over The Top". 
A real bad ass.

Rating - 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment