Sunday, 30 August 2015

Butcher Babies - Take it Like a Man (2015)

Genre - Heavy Metal / Metalcore
Label - Century Media
Track listing:
01 - Monsters Ball
02 - Igniter
03 - The Cleansing
04 - The Butcher
05 - Gravemaker
06 - Thrown Away
07 - Never Go Back
08 - Marquee
09 - Blood Soaked Hero
10 - Dead Man Walking
11 - For The Fight
12 - Blonde Girls All Look The Same

By God......this is an album!
Now I have to be honest here and admit that I am not the biggest fan of the metalcore and nu-metal genre's. I just don't seem to get it, if you know what I mean. Although over the years the odd band has caught my attention, its usually just the odd song, and rarely could I sit through a full album. But that has changed with Butcher Babies and "Take It Like A Man".
Californian Metal / Metalcore quintet return with their sophomore album in the form of "Take It Like A Man", and what an album it is, with vocalists Heidi Shepherd and Carla Harvey more than proving they do anything any metalcore singer can do, and probably a whole lot better too!
The album opens with the brilliant 'Monsters Ball', before launching into the equally brilliant 'Igniter' and 'The Cleansing'. Furious riffs and demonic vocals abound!
'The Butcher' has a steamroller of a break down, whilst 'Thrown Away' has a brooding stripped down feel to it. 'Marquee' is probably as extreme as metal can get before becoming utter nonsense, whilst 'Never Go Back' and 'For The Fight' bounce along in a rather familiar way. 'Blonde Girls All Look The Same' has a certain ferocity to it with the venom filled vocal lines.
"Take It like A Man" proves Bucher Babies credentials beyond any doubt, they are here and they are here to stay.

Very Highly Recommended

Rating - 10/10

No comments:

Post a Comment