Monday, 28 March 2011

Joe Bonamassa - Dust Bowl

Genre - Blues / Rock
Label -

Track listing -

01. Slow Train
02. Dust Bowl
03. Tennessee Plates (featuring John Hiatt and Vince Gill)
04. The Meaning of the Blues
05. Black Lung Heartache
06. You Better Watch Yourself
07. The Last Matador of Bayonne
08. Heartbreaker (feat. Glenn Hughes)
09. No Love on the Street
10. The Whale that Swallowed Jonah
11. Sweet Rowena (feat. Vince Gill)
12. Prisoner

Joe Bonamassa is an American blues guitarist who regularly wins awards in guitar magazines and has been praised by BB King, and lead guitarist for the Super group of 2010, Black Country Communion. But beyond all of this, Joe is an established solo artist in his own right, with Dust Bowl being his 12th solo album to date.
There is just simply no questioning this man’s talent, his guitar cries, sings and wails, the emotion it purveys is phenomenal!
Joe is also one hell of a song writer too! This album is filled with modern day blues classics, from the opener, Slow Train to title track Dust Bowl, upon which Joe shoes a enough restraint to really build an atmosphere when the licks he plays. Another excellent song, which I find myself listening to over and over again is The Meaning of The Blues, a truly great song!
This is also full of surprises too, with Black Lung Heartache having a southern almost Celtic folk feel to it in place.
Joes Black Country Communion cohort, Glenn Hughes, puts in a brief appearance on Heartbreaker, another excellent song added to Joe’s cannon.
This album is probably THE blues rock album of 2011, it really is that good, and you really should check it out!

website - Joe Bonamassa
Rating 10/10

No comments:

Post a Comment