Monday, 21 March 2011

Michael Monroe – “Sensory Overdrive”

Genre - Hard Rock / Sleaze / Glam / Punk
Label - Spinefarm Records

Track listing -

01. Trick Of The Wrist
02. '78
03. Got Blood
04. Superpowered Superfly
05. Modern Day Miracle
06. Bombs Away
07. All You Need
08. Later Won't Wait
09. Gone Baby Gone
10. Center Of Your Heart
11. Debauchery As A Fine Art (featuring Lemmy)
12. Another Night In The Sun [bonus track]
13. You're Next [bonus track]

Pure Rock 'n' Roll with (punk) attitude! This album is awesome.
When Michael Monroe released the live album last year, Another Night In The Sun, I hoped that we would be in for something special, especially with a lineup featuring Ginger, Sami Yaffa, Steve Conte, Karl Rockfist and of course Mr. Monroe on lead vocals, and boy, this album doesn’t disappoint!
The sound comes across as a mix of later day Hanoi Rocks, Michael’s solo stuff and a little Demolition 23, all with a great pristine production, oh and of course some cracking songs!
Now let’s just say this and get this out of the way, Ginger has hi stamp throughout all of these songs, and must have been heavily involved in the songwriting, and thank god!
Later Won’t Wait could be a Ginger solo or even a Wildhearts track, the riff is just so familiar, and Uk bonus track, Another Night In The Sun, could have stepped right off of Warrior Souls Space Age Playboys album, great riff, great song.
This album is a contender for album of 2011, all the songs are great, the musicianship awesome (although could you expect anything less from this line up!), and well, it’s just a bloody fantastic album, simplez!
At the moment my favorite tracks include, Later Won’t Wait, Bombs Away, 78, Trick Of The Wrist, Modern Day Miracle, You're Next and Debauchery As A Fine Art, a song that is co written with Lemmy, and appeared in an earlier form as Motorheaded For A Fall on last year’s live album, Another Night In The Sun.
This is a great rock n roll album, go get a copy now, you won’t regret it!

Website - Michael MonroeRating - 10/10

No comments:

Post a Comment