Friday, 25 March 2011

Queen - Sheer Heart Attack (2011 Remaster)

Genre - Classic Rock / Hard Rock / Glam / Pop
Label - Island Records

01 – Brighton Rock
02 – Killer Queen
03 – Tenement Funster
04 – Flick of the Wrist
05 – Lily of the Valley
06 – Now I’m Here
07 – In the Lap of the Gods
08 – Stone Cold Crazy
09 – Dear Friends
10 – Misfire
11 – Bring Back That Leroy Brown
12 – She Makes Me (Stormtrooper In Stilettos)
13 – In the Lap of the Gods… Revisited

Bonus CD:
01 – Now I’m Here (Live At Hammersmith Odeon, December 1975)
02 – Flick of the Wrist (BBC Session, October 1974)
03 – Tenement Funster (BBC Session, October 1974)
04 – Bring Back That Leroy Brown (A Cappella Mix 2011)
05 – In the Lap of the Gods… Revisited (Live At Wembley Stadium, July 1986)

Sheer Heart Attack gave Queen their first commercial chart success in the form of a brilliant little song about a high class hooker in Killer Queen. Sheer Heart Attack really does contain some gems, from the rocking likes of Brighton Rock, Now I’m Here and Stone Cold Crazy, to the pop genius of Killer Queen and Misfire, to the quirky but brilliant Tenement Funster, Flick Of The Wrist, Lap Of The Gods and Bring Back that Leroy Brown, in fact a great all round album!
Again the re-mastering really adds a new lease of life to these classics, enabling even hardened life loving Queen Fans like myself to hear things that they had never heard before within the tracks!
The bonus disc contains a few BBC session tracks from the era, could have possibly have included the stand alone versions of Flick Of The Wrist, Lily Of The Valley and Tenement Funster, and a few demos that are known to exist, but maybe they’ll be on the Anthology.
A great album

Website – Queen
Rating - 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment