Tuesday, 21 January 2014

The Brew - Control (2014)

Genre - Hard Rock / Classic Rock
Label - Jazzhaus Records

Track listing:

01 - Repeat
02 - Eject
03 - Mute
04 - Pause
05 - Shuffle
06 - Fast Forward
07 - Skip
08 - Stop
09 - Play
10 - Rewind

The Brew have proven themselves to be one of the finest classic rock bands in the world over recent years, and one of the UK music scenes greatest exports. "With Control we wiped the slate clean and went for a raw and live feel" claims the bands promo sheet, and to be honest they have pulled it off superbly! The production, by the one and only Toby Jepson (Little Angels / Gun / Fastway / Dio's Disciples) captures that raw live feeling and really brings the songs to life. And speaking of songs, don't let those single word titles fool you into thinking you are getting a grunge type of album, on the contrary, the songs on control are exploding with life and atmosphere.
For a three piece The Brew sure do manage to make one hell of a noise. Jason Barwick's vocals are soulful and full of passion, whilst his guitar work is powerful and restrained, always making the song the highlight (and not how great a player he is!), in the vain of many of the genres greats. Tim Smith's bass playing gives a warm and full sound to each and every song, whilst Kurt Smith's drums provide the strong and solid foundations that the songs are built upon.
It is damn near impossible to pick out a standout track here, they are all absolutely brilliant, but I suggest you give opening single Repeat a spin or two as to give you a feel for just how great this album truly is!

Control is released Feb 20th, make sure you grab a copy, you wont be disappointed!

Very highly recommended

Rating - 10/10

No comments:

Post a Comment