Wednesday, 29 January 2014

Fireroad - I Got Sound (2014) Review

Genre - Hard Rock / Classic Rock / Modern Rock
Label - Habit Formed Records

Track listing:

01. I Got Sound

02. Find a Way
03. Leave My Heart
04. Line Me Up
05. Before the Matinee
06. Never Wrong
07. Falling Down
08. Sundown
09. Swinging Brick
10. Knock It Away
11. Rain Water

Debut albums don't come along like this very often. Rock at its best, in your face but with a few subtleties thrown in. I Got Sound is a full on balls out old fashioned rock album, great guitar driven classic rock but with a very contemporary edge. Their bio says, Great Band, great songs, great fun, and to be honest you just can't disagree.
Just imagine John Mellencamp fronting Foo Fighters jamming with Cinderella and then you get a good idea of what Fireroad sound like.
Fireroad are a 4 piece rock band based in the South Wales. They were formed in 2012 by Richard Jones, the band’s lead singer and songwriter, the band is completed by Tim Jones, Gavin Davies and Matt Whitney.

Richard Jones, has a long history of performing within the local rock scene. In his youth he played with the Tragic Love Company, whom later evolved to become South Wales most well known band the Stereophonics. After leaving, he pursued other avenues whilst maintaining a close friendship with the Kelly Jones, Richard Jones and the late Stuart Cable.
I Got Sound is probably the perfect title for this album, because it sure does. Eleven excellent tracks, lovingly crafted together and brought to life by one hell of a band. The production here too is really top notch.
There isn't really a stand out track on here, but you really do have to check out Find A Way, I Got Sound, Line Me Up, Never Wrong and the beautiful Rain Water.

A truly outstanding debut

Rating - 10/10

1 comment:

  1. Hi guys only just seen this great review. We are now self labelled. No Longer with Habit formed as of Jan 2014, Thanks again. Rich