Thursday, 9 June 2016

The Wildhearts - Never Outdrunk Never Outsung: PHUQ Live (2016)

Genre - Hard Rock / Punk / Alternative / Britrock
Label - Self Released / Round Records / Pledge Music

Track  listing:

Disc 1
01 - I Wanna Go Where The People Go
02 - V-Day
03 - Just In Lust
04 - Baby Strange
05 - Nita Nitro
06 - Jonesing For Jones
07 - Up Your Arse You Fucking Cunt
08 - Woah Shit You Through
09 - Cold Patootie Tango
10 - Caprice
11 - Be My Drug
12 - Naivety Play
13 - In Lily's Garden
14 - Getting It

Disc 2
01 - Don't Bout Me
02 - Weekend
03 - Stormy In The North, Karma In The South
04 - Red Light, Green Light
05 - White Lies
06 - 29 x The Pain

Now I have never been the biggest fan of live albums. The sound is usually crap or they contain so many overdubs that they cant really be classed as a live album any more, so it has to be said that I faced listening to the The Wildhearts Never Outdrunk, Never Outsung – PHUQ Live anniversary show live album with a certain amount of trepidation. I needn't have worried though as this is exactly what a live album should bloody well sound like!
Recorded in London during the PHUQ twentieth anniversary tour this is a warts 'n' all recording, featuring the album played in its entirety, together with the encores. But what makes this album special is the sound. this album sounds fantastic! The mix is perfect, thanks to the mixing talents of Dave Draper. I really can not stress just how good this album sounds, every instrument is crystal clear, (yes even CJ's guitar!), the mix captures the power and finesse of the songs and performance. This album is definitely the closest thing to actually being there!
Any fan of the band, or even Gingers solo work really should check this release out!

Definitely the best live album that will be released this year!

Very, very Highly Recommended!

Rating: 10/10

No comments:

Post a Comment