Monday, 29 August 2016

Michael Sweet - One Sided War (2016)

Genre - Hard Rock
Label - Rat Pak Records

Track listing:
01. Bizarre
02. One Sided War
03. Can't Take This Life
04. Radio
05. Golden Age
06. Only You
07. I Am
08. Who Am I
09. You Make Me Wanna
10. Comfort Zone
11. One Way Up
12. Can't Take This Life [feat M. Formica ](bonus track)

It's been a busy couple of years for Styper lead singer, Michael Sweet,  releasing new music with Stryper, George Lynch (Sweet/Lynch) and his own solo music, and now he returns once more with his latest new solo release "One Sided War". Now whilst his previous solo effort was an extremely diverse Rock ‘n’ Roll record, this new release "One Sided War" is pure out and out hard rock.
For this album Sweet has assembled a fine bunch of musicians, guitarist Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake, Night Ranger), drummer Will Hunt (Evanescence), guitarist Ethan Brosh (Burning Heat, solo work), and bassist John O’Boyle (Tom Ingram Band), and they have pulled off a mighty fine job too!
 “Musically it’s my heaviest solo album. It’s not metal but there are definitely some songs on there that will pop out at you. There are some songs that have a bit of the Iron Maiden / Dio feel to them, as well as some songs that have a little bit of a Van Halen influence to them. It’s a very guitar-oriented, hard rock/metal album with lots of melodies and hooks.” or so says the man himself, Michael Sweet.
The album opens with “Bizarre” a high-speed track that really sets the tone for the album.  The title track “One Sided War” kicks off with a drum roll from Hunt and then is filled with thick heavy riffs, loud guitars, thumping bass lines, and some brilliantly strong vocals. “Can’t Take This Life,” a catchy song that will having you singing along  in no time at all, is featured twice on this album with the bonus version featuring the talents of up-and-coming vocalist 16 year old Mariah Formica. “Golden Age” has its fast paced drums and chugging guitars together with some amazing guitar licks and solos from Brosh and Hoekstra. "Radio", which has been released as the albums second single, has a real fun feel to it, heavy and some great lyrics that have Sweet having his tongue planted firmly in his cheek.
“I Am” is a riff heavy song with a slower pace to it, whilst “Who Am I” slows things down a bit as this is the only ballad on this album. It is a beautifully written song that shows the softer side of Sweet that we all know he is capable of. “You Make Me Wanna” kicks things back to full-speed with another catchy and head banging tune, while “One Way Up” is a groovy tune that might have you dancing in your room.
If you are a fan of the harder side of Stryper, then you have to pick this album up. It will not disappoint you !

Rating: 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment