Saturday, 20 August 2016

Magic Eight Ball - Richest Men In The Graveyard (Expanded Edition 2016)

Genre - Hard Rock / Power Pop
Label - Magic Cat Records

Track listing:

01 - Falling In Love Is Like A Vampire
02 - It's Not For Me To Say
03 - Dying To Say
04 - Once Again
05 - Eye's Of A Fool
06 - If The World's Never Falling Asleep
07 - Tomorrow Can Wait
08 - Keep Me Out Of The Sunlight
09 - She's Leaving
10 - Darling Will
11 - Once Again (Acoustic Session)*
12 - Eye's Of A Fool (Acoustic Session)*
* exclusive to the Expanded edition.

Magic Eight Ball is a hard rock / power pop band formed in Old Windsor, England, and 'Richest Man In The Graveyard' is their third full length album.
"Formed in 2006, the band released several EPs and singles throughout their early years whilst touring constantly, then in 2013 through Magic Cat Records, Magic Eight Ball released their d├ębut album 'Sorry We're Late But We're Worth The Wait' featuring guest appearances from Jason Bowld (Bullet for My Valentine) and Donnie Vie, followed by their accompanying European Tour. The band then released their second album 'Last Of The Old Romantics' in 2014 featuring the late comedy legend that was Rik Mayall (The Young Ones/Drop Dead Fred) on the record, and they once again toured the album across the continent."
The album features the talents of Baz Francis on vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, bass, keyboards, Dave Draper providing Bass on ‘She’s Leaving’, additional keys on ‘Darling Will’, additional bass on ‘Tomorrow Can Wait’, extra electric guitar on ‘Falling In Love’s Like A Vampire’, additional bass and extra electric guitar on Keep Me Out The Sunlight’ and Jason Bowld providing drums on all songs.

'Richest Man In The Graveyard' opens up with 'Falling In Love Is Like A Vampire', which starts with some atmospheric keyboards before launching into dark moody bass riff full of eastern influence. A great song to open any album with, 'Richest Man In The Graveyard' is off to a great start! 'It's Not For Me To Say' follows, which is a slightly less intense and more melodic track, but still a great song. 'Dying To Say' is up next which is the most commercial track so far on the album, some great vocals from Baz Francis throughout. Next we have 'Once Again', which to me comes across as a mid-tempo rock anthem with some great vocal harmonies. 'Eyes Of A Fool' is another great melodic track. 'If The World Never Falling Asleep' is a brilliant acoustic driven track and one of the albums many highlights! A truly great song. 'Tomorrow Can Wait' is up next and once again we have a great melodic rocker which show cases some great pop sensibilities. 'Keep My Out The Sunlight' has a real Beatles mixed with Madness feel to its verses giving it a refreshing feel before exploding into a great chorus! 'She's Leaving' follows which proves to be another great melodic rock song. Next we have 'Darling Will' which is the album proper's closing track and another great  number which see's the albums pace change somewhat to a laid back acoustic led finale.
The expanded edition adds acoustic versions of 'Once Again' and 'Eyes Of A Fool' which gives the listener a different perspective of these great songs.

I have to say that the  Richest Men In The Graveyard is a fantastic album that has left me a little disappointed that I hadn't come across this great band years ago! The perfect blending of modern rock and classic pop sensibilities.

Very Highly Recommended!

Rating: 10/10

No comments:

Post a Comment