Sunday, 6 November 2016

Hand of Dimes - Raise (2016)

Genre - Hard Rock / Melodic Rock
Label - Coda Recordings

Track listing:
01 - Guilty
02 - Moonlight Mile
03 - Stranger in My Home Town
04 - Pinstriped Arrogance
05 - Jacob's Ladder
06 - The Drifter
07 - Looking at You
08 - Angels and Demons
09 - Sail On
10 - Bad Reputation
11 - Come the Hour
12 - Another Sunday
13 - If I Hold You (Bonus Track)

Hand of Dimes are a relatively new melodic hard band fronted by Welsh rock legend Nev MacDonald (Skin, Taste, Kooga) and Raise is the bands debut full length studio album, released via Coda Recordings. In Hand of Dimes, Nev MacDonald is joined by his form Kooga  partner in crime the excellent songwriter / keyboardist Neil Garland.
Hand Of Dimes has a classic rock sound with pulsating guitars, classy keyboards and a bouncy rhythm section guided by MacDonald's enormous bluesy roar. Nev's vocals are powerful, controlled and full of emotion. Just check the incredible 'Another Sunday', a true gem.
Songs like ‘Looking at You’ and ‘Bad Reputation’ were given the spacious arrangements to show that off, much in the way Free and Bad Co. did with Paul Rodgers voice.
‘Angels and Demons’ and ‘Jacobs Ladder’ are both more mid-tempo paced, atmospheric pieces creating a more intimate mood, the for pumping rockers, 'Pinstriped Arrogance' with its classy Whitesnake feel, the kickin' opener 'Guilty' and the funkier 'Come the Hour' are real winners.
Neil Garland adds some great keyboard work on the likes of ‘Stranger in my Home Town’ or the soulful 'Sail On', while hiding behind shades the guitar work of Colin Edwards is really tasteful.
"Raise" is a terrific classic rock debut from Hand Of Dimes full of excellent melodies and some truly awesome songs.

Rating: 9/10

No comments:

Post a Comment