Saturday, 9 February 2013

Mutation (Ginger Wildheart) - 1 - The Frankenstien Effect

Genre - Hard Rock / Metal / Experimental / Extreme / Alternative
Label - Pledge Music (exclusive at the moment!)

Track Listing -

01 - Powderland
02 - Rats
03 - Friday Night Drugs
04 - Schadenfreuden
05 - Compass Point
06 - Lively Boy
07 - Gruntwhore
08 - On Poking Dogs
09 - Wham City
10 - Carion Blue

The Frankenstien Project, the first of two Mutation albums, and the fifth albums worth of material released in an eight month period!. The Mutation project is about as far removed musically from the 555% and Hey! Hello! projects as you could possibly get, and this the first of the two, The Frankenstien Effect, is the mellowest of the two and the more accessable of the pair.
Imagine the more extreme, heavier, off the wall tracks that the Wildhearts have ever put out, then multiply that by a thousand and you may get an idea of what we are dealing with here.
Thats not to say that its all intensity, there are some great melodies interwoven with the imense riffs. If you like your music on the heavy side then you really should check this out, very much in the vein of Pulled Apart By Horses and Exit International (who feature, along with Random Jon Poole and Chris Catalyst to name a few), The Frankenstien Effect is an album that shows Ginger is just as cutting edge and relevent today as he has ever been.
A great album, with ten stunningly heavy tracks, and possibly only ever to be made available through this Pledge campaign as it now looks like the second album, Error 500, will be made available commercially in its entirity.

Rating - 10/10

No comments:

Post a Comment